And So The Journey Begins…

“When you find yourself, you will be free” – Dan Brule

Three years ago, I started to write. I struggled with it and if I’m to be very honest, I still do. Why? Because there are times when blogging (with no specific direction) can seem like writing a journal. Only, a kind of a journal that the world (or in my case, 11 awesome followers by today) can see.

Truthfully, this blog was at first meant as my escape.

I still remember. Early 2013 a good friend and I (hey Felicia) sat on the carpet in my bedroom and talked about life.

I was 23 and it was one of the few times I’d had a serious conversation about anything and even more, while not high.

See, my dad had passed away the Christmas before and I was in that stage where the numbness wouldn’t let me see past anything and she was afraid that I would pick up some not-so-positive habits.

Together, we listed a number of activities that I could have done to stay sane and veer as far off of eminent depression as possible and writing was one of them.

It seemed easy enough. I mean all I needed was internet connection and my thoughts, so off I went.

No direction in sight, no plan or goals set. Nothing.

Until today.

Maybe it’s the fact that the year is about to end. Maybe it’s that my life’s scale is tipping closer to thirty than to twenty which I have to admit is a bit scary. But I have found myself in need of direction.

Let me put it this way.

You know how you can prepare for a job interview? Go through the company’s mission and vision, google synonyms and adjectives to use when providing a short summary of your CV (which you’ll have to present them with anyway) and pick out the most appropriate outfit?

Well for some reason, I’ve got that feeling you get when they ask you “tell us about yourself”… and then you freeze, realizing that 12 years of school and an under graduate degree later, that is still the most difficult question.

will-doesnt-know

Who am I? What am I about and how can I best reflect or communicate this to everyone else?

It’s for this reason that I have taken it upon myself to go on a journey of self discovery.

I won’t be going on it alone though, as you’ll hopefully accept my invitation to go along with me.

This journey is set to start today and go on (well in reality, it’ll go on forever but for purposes of this blog) for the reminder of 2016.

I shall endeavor to find out as much as I can about self-growth and what true happiness and success is, details of which you will all be clued in on, should you choose to follow this adventure (read that, “if you choose to follow this blog”… which you should… please!).

Ready? Here goes…

 

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. winnie says:

    Joyfully accept the Invitation πŸ™‚ Been a great progress if I may say,,,, Proud of you Rachael

    Like

    1. Thank you Winnie πŸ™‚ You’re a good friend :-*

      Like

  2. Lee Ndegwa says:

    IN all the way…

    Like

    1. Can’t wait to write all about how it’s been all through 2016 πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading this Lee!

      Like

    1. :-* Asante for reading Dex πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

