Just Being Honest! How I REALLY Felt About #WBWR

(#WBWR – A hash tag that accompanies Homeboyz Radio Weekend Show ‘Weekend Breakfast With Rae)

It’s been an incredible 200 shows hosted so far and I remain eternally grateful to you who listens in at the insane times that the show airs.

When I first got the Weekend Breakfast Show I thought for sure they were trying to fire me!! I mean, who even wakes up on a Saturday morning at 6am to turn on their radios? Insane right?

I honestly thought they were trying to hide me away by having me be on a time slot that I initially thought was a dead zone. And as if that wasn’t bad enough, I would be replacing two of the station’s highly rated weekend shows.

Imagine the pressure! Prior to this, I had only ever hosted a weekend radio show with a deejay and while it was great practice, nothing ever prepares you for your own show. You know. The kind of show where it’s just you in studio by yourself talking about…. well, whatever it is you want to talk about.

So what did I do? I selfishly created a show that was entertaining to only me… or so I thought.

I basically said to myself, ‘if they’re going to sentence me to a lifetime of early weekend mornings, then like it or not, I will play the kind of music I like and play the kind of games I want to play!’

That was how the feature ‘Under Cover’ was born. I figured, I love cover songs and I called it ‘Under Cover’ because given that it’s an early morning radio show, I knew most of my listeners would be listening literally from under their covers.

It’s so far gotten a life of its own transforming into a first of its kind radio acoustic talent search called The Cover and as I write this, we are currently recording the second episode (set to air this weekend).

I’ve gotten to meet with tonnes of artists who’ve graced our airwaves and had the incredible honor of watching them perform LIVE acoustic renditions to both their singles and to other popular singles something you can watch HERE.

Not to say that I am the best at what I do but I have learned to not judge anything by it’s face value. Had I given up on the initial thought that #WBWR would never be a show people would want to listen to and enjoy, then I wouldn’t have gotten this far.

It’s taught me to trust in my ability to create and deliver anything I set my mind to, a lesson I know you and everyone could use.

Hope you enjoyed the read!

As always, I love to hear back from you so hit me up on the comment section πŸ™‚

 

 

 

23 Comments Add yours

  1. breetoons says:

    I love you Rae..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaaw πŸ™‚ Love you back Bree :-*

      Like

  2. breetoons says:

    Bree Mongina Loves you

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Winnie Sande says:

    Always a great Show Ma’am,,, and playing most of my fav Genre >>> EDM & House Music πŸ™‚

    Yoooh Snooze you Loose when everyone thinks they are fully awake just to get it wrong!!! Esp Engineer @TeamJorges,,,, & UnderCover πŸ™‚ That Guitar Version whoop whoop. Basically a Great Weekend SHOW

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gosh thank you for that Winnie πŸ™‚ And yes!!! Love it when people get that Snooze You Lose wrong πŸ˜€ Lol

      Like

  4. Qarhmau says:

    Oh wow! πŸ˜„ Like 200 episodes I’ve listened to countable ones. But I mean its Homeboyzradio they always know what they are doing, I thought. But this ‘under cover’ you be killing ’em… Imekua kama morning church service. Compulsory! Keep those awesome young talents coming. We appreciate your big heart, efforts and hardwork. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah for a while there I wondered about what they were doing πŸ˜€ Thank you for listening in when you do πŸ™‚ Like you’ve been listening since siku za Uptown! Much love! xo

      Like

  5. kibe says:

    Nice one Rae, love ur show

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kibe πŸ™‚ Thanks for checking out the blog!

      Like

  6. Lee says:

    From uptown 911(Peter Tosh times) to now…

    Long but fun journey…

    Rae: Simply the best…

    Like

  7. DORCIE says:

    This is me in a special way saying Thankyou for coming up with Undercover and now The Cover Kenya ☺☺☺☺.
    I finally met in you someone who understands music the way I do!!

    Thankyou for #WBWR Rae!!

    ~DORCIE~

    Like

  8. evanyambu says:

    we are always undercover listening to you Rae that early yep. You rock and the voice hmm love it

    Like

  9. Noellah says:

    Well…fine,dont gimme that cheesy look. i love absolutely love your show and i hata an hour and feel like something isnt right i swear. Guess what!,i gotchu…from day 1 (amUrSecret/silent bestie) oh before Gee (teamGeorges)…

    rock doll

    Like

  10. Eunice @Thee_Achiever says:

    The weekend breakfast show queenπŸ‘Έ waiting for the weekend

    Like

  11. Eunice @Thee_Achiever says:

    Ata kama am always snoozingπŸ™ˆπŸ˜Ž Thank you for blessing my mornings each weekend…you are my weekend Radio queen, yeeees Eunice amesema..#Rae’sTop5πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒkeep up #StrengthDirective

    Like

    1. Hahaha πŸ˜€ You are fantastic! Thank you for listening to the show since it began! πŸ™‚ Like since that very first show πŸ™‚ I appreciate it Eunice!

      Like

  12. MOSES. says:

    Turns out your selfishness to play house and edm makes me wake up early to listen to your sweet voice.
    and the covers toooo!

    Like

    1. Hahaha πŸ˜€ Well here’s to being even more selfish from now on!! Lol I’m glad you love the show Moses. Thank you for reading this πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. kenneth karue says:

    your show always make insane thru the covers…
    rae please help me build a website.

    Like

    1. That’s so great to hear! πŸ™‚ Thank you Kenneth and I’m glad you love #WBWR I really appreciate you listening to it every weekend morning. You want to built a website? Well maybe you could start off by checking out wordpress.com πŸ™‚

      Like

  14. kenneth karue says:

    thanks rae let me try…

    Like

  15. Kendavis Njoki. says:

    Have Really Enjoyed Reading This Article And I Feel So Much INSPIRED. Then How You Argue Where You Got That UNDERCOVER Title Is Just 3D THINKING Coz Frankly Right Now Am Under My Covers. CONGRATULATIONS RAE

    Like

    1. Awww glad you related to it 😊 And yeah that’s definitely how I thought up the name Under cover 😁 Thanks for checking out my blog Ken 😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

