3 Morning Routines Everybody Should Adopt

We start most Monday mornings (well most of us anyway) groggy and gloomy about how short lived the weekend was.

Now I’m not in anyway suggesting that this will be the read that’ll change your life, but it may change how you feel about your mornings, which when started well, affect how great the rest of your day goes.

They’ve helped me loads! See how well these routines fit into your lives as well. Happy reading!

1.PLAN

good_interview_planning

 

While there are probably going to be a million and one things that will need your attention throughout the day, I’ve found it particularly helpful to start by focusing on only one.

This however must be the one most important thing. Basically ask yourself, ‘if I was to accomplish just one thing today, what would it be?’

Set your mind onto that one major and most pressing thing and plan to tackle it first thing when you get to work.

You should thereafter arrange the rest of your day’s tasks in priority format and set along with that list, specific timelines.

E.g. In my case; Today I’ve got.

8:00 – 8:05am Arrive at the office. Settle in. Call IT guy to check out my computer.

8:05 – 8:15am Check and respond to any emails.

8:15 – 9:15am Start on proposals.

 

….you get the point.

Well set goals/targets act as a great grid for a successful use of your day.

2. EAT

Happy-Breakfast-Plate.jpg

Because a hungry man is an angry man!

No really. It’s been researched that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It will help kick start your metabolism, raising energy levels which will in turn help in increasing your level of focus.

I also found that a great addition to your mornings is a glass of water (preferably with a slice of lemon in it). Not only might it fool your coworkers into thinking you’re one of those fit-life fanatics but it really does help you to wake up faster and reduce the feeling of hunger.

3. PRAY

pray

This one should have come first!

The most difficult thing about mornings is trying to organize your tasks and realizing just how much you have to do all day.

So to lift the spirit, what works for me is a few minutes in prayer/meditation where I really only focus on the things that I’m grateful for.

Needless to say, for me these include my daughter Alexis, my ever supportive mother, the fact that I’m alive!! and a whole lot more.

Prayer is also a great avenue to let God take care of the things that worry you the most so that you can worry about them less.

There you go! Just a simple read for your Monday morning!

Stay blessed!

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Tilda says:

    Nice article Rachael. Simple and on point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tilda 🙂 Glad you read it!

      Like

  2. Winnie Sande says:

    The more you pray, the less you’ll panic,,, And if the only Prayer one could whisper was ‘Thank You’ thats would be More than enough….. I like this

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well put Winnie 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Like

  3. Hello Rae. I’m a big fan of you and #WBWR. I blog too. I had “auditioned” for that #PickMeHBR internship. So I felt that my video wasn’t enough…and I wrote a post Cancer, Thief of Joy. But these past few weeks I’ve had exams, and I can’t write because I’m anxious. If you guys don’t pick me, I know I’ll have to move on.
    But please visit thewritedavid.wordpress.com you’ll see I’m the best guy for YOU (HBr).
    Also, I’m sure you’ll like what you read, so don’t forget to follow. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

