I Really Did! I Found Peter Pan

I have fallen in love with Ruth B’s ‘Lost Boy’ single and it might be thanks to my love for simple arrangements. I mean she really only uses piano and her soulful sultry voice.

In the 4 minute something song, this 20 year old Canadian singer tells the age old ‘Peter Pan’ story, singing presumably as Wendy, one of the children he visited.

Growing up to cartoons and fairy tales like I did (actually like most of us did), it really is beautiful how she paints a picture of freedom and escape. I mean when you think about it, that’s what Peter Pan represents right?

“Run, run, lost boy,” they say to me,
“Away from all of reality.”

He was a cartoon character that visited children and gave them an extraordinary experience by teaching them to fly by believing in themselves, taking them to a world devoid of time and helping them make new friends in a whirlwind of exciting adventures.

Sounds like something that was wittingly scripted to fit into everyone’s life right? Think about it. To fly. What does that mean? It means to soar, to get away from ground and be above.

Together we will fly away in a cloud of green
To your beautiful destiny
As we soared above the town that never loved me
I realized I finally had a family

Peter Pan told the children of great things. Of what they were missing out on. He told them, basically, of a profound opportunity to be happy and taught them how to reach, quite literally, the world of their dreams using pixie dust.

Get this though, to use the pixie dust wasn’t enough. They needed to believe in themselves in order to fly. They needed to focus on their goal, which was to fly and get to Neverland. I know it’s all fiction but say it were you. Would you have believed him? If all Peter Pan gave you was dust and said it was all you needed to fly provided you believed in it and didn’t take your mind off your goal. Would you have believed him?

Then one night, as I closed my eyes,
I saw a shadow flying high
He came to me with the sweetest smile
Told me he wanted to talk for awhile
He said, “Peter Pan. That’s what they call me.
I promise that you’ll never be lonely.”

Probably not. Maybe that’s why he appeared to children. Innocent. Slow to doubt and quick to believe. Too young to, unlike us, have tried and failed one too many times to be quick to trust “Peter Pan”.

But they did. They trusted him and they flew. Reason I loved this song is for the same reason you’ve got that feeling just now having read this. That a simple story can relate so much to each of us.

I feel like I’ve met Peter Pan before. Actually, I’ve met him many times and each time, he’s never quite the same as he was the last time. He’s sometimes a man, a woman and even sometimes, he’s me.

I’ve learnt that Neverland exists but only to some people. It’s a land where the people who’ve unlocked their potential live. People who don’t see the world as we do. They, like Wendy and the children, don’t doubt for a second that they can fly.

These people are who Peter Pan calls ‘The Lost Boys’. I’m guessing he uses plural because as the saying goes, ‘birds of a feather flock together’.

Whats more, as if we needed reminding of how important it is to have goals or dreams, at the start of the song, Ruth B sings about being lonely (unfulfilled) before ‘closing her eyes’, (allowing herself to dream) and meeting Peter Pan.

There was a time when I was alone
Nowhere to go and no place to call home
My only friend was the man in the moon
And even sometimes he would go away, too

 

When she met Peter and flew to Neverland, she became a lost boy and boy does she make it sound epic. She calls them her family and listen to this, she says they play in the woods. Can you imagine how scary that must have been? In the woods where Captain hook, the story’s representative of fear and darkness, was always lurking. Well in the song she says that each time Captain Hook, much like debt, sickness and failed relationships, would chase after her, the lost boys were there to warn and help.

I am a lost boy from Neverland
Usually hanging out with Peter Pan
And when we’re bored we play in the woods
Always on the run from Captain Hook
“Run, run, lost boy,” they say to me,
“Away from all of reality.”

I don’t know about you but I am going to keep an eye out for Peter Pan. The ‘person’, ‘people’ or ‘feeling’ of being able to achieve great things and each time I find him, I’ll believe him.

Really hope you do too!

Then maybe then, like Ruth B says at the end of her single, we will be free.

 

Neverland is home to lost boys like me
And lost boys like me are free

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Magdalene says:

    Woow! I especially love the quotes. I love your writing Rae.💙💙💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ☺ The quotes are from the song.

      Like

  2. Am liking the reads here. Please do Click on my own articles. I write to inspire. (njokikelvin.wordpress.com/inspirations-article)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ng’anga ☺ And I am on it! Love getting inspired 🙂

      Like

  3. Beatrice says:

    I read this and felt myself rise. I’ll find Peter Pan I’m sure. Inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

